18-teens offering for Must Have Tuesday

Today’s dress is from 1818.  We are still in the Nightgown Era, aka Regency, which is not my favorite but I found this little number at the Met that I just love.  I’m afraid I can’t find it again so I am unable to give you a link to its spot in the Museum.

It’s not all white!

Here is the back view.

I like the little swoops on the hem.

Now, this is what caught my attention.

Isn’t that the oddest material. It looks like something from this day and age!

It is obviously shear with shiny lines in it and when they pleated the upper bodice it got this neat checkered look.  You could sell at least this bodice as a grad dress for this day and age.

I’ll see you tomorrow with my next cabinet card installment.

Leave a Reply

