Cabinet Card hairstyle lesson 101

When I was considering buying a bundle of cabinet cards I was on the fence.  On the one hand, it was a great way to get a pile of cards without coughing up a ton of money.  But, my practice had been to buy cards where I could get a good look at some of a woman’s dress feature and this bundle only had head shots.  I decided to go with buying them because I figured, at the very least, I would get a few ideas from the hair styles and jewelry.  Well, my next card has taught me that not all 1880s women wore their buns at the back of their heads.  I’ve come to think of 1880s hair styles looking like this lady (posted last week)

Her hair is set low at the back of her head.

But this lady has hers on top of her head.

Churchill Arcade NY

(Sorry about the odd angle to the photo.  It was a cloudy evening when I took the photo and though the ambient lighting was relaxing, it wasn’t helpful for taking photos.  I had to use the flash and so I tilted the photo to prevent glare.)

The other odd thing I noticed is the bun is darker in color than the rest of her hair.  I have two theories on that.  One is the hair near her head was starting to go grey and the longer hair that is swept up on her head grew when she was younger and not going grey.  The other theory is that the bun is actually a hair piece.  What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Cabinet Card hairstyle lesson 101

  1. Shirley A Victorian says:

    hair pieces were common I go with a hair piece

Leave a Reply

