My favorite dishes.

I grant that these are not Victorian.  But, if I had Victorian dishes I’d be too afraid to eat off of them!  No, my favorite dishes are merely vintage (1932-45) and not antique.  When I was a kid my grandmother gave some dishes to my mom….just a few odds and ends, bits and pieces.  They were my favorites because I found they had more character than the dishes from that horror of tastelessness known as the 70s.  And one day my mom gave them to me. 

Alfred Meakin Home Pastures.

I love the picture on the dishes…it is a place I’d like to go to.  It seems so serene.  One day, I’d like to own a complete set with at least 4 place settings.  So far I’ve found one plate.  Alas, my family has also managed to break one of the serving dishes.  One step forward and one step back.

There are some on-line that are a reasonable price.  I just have to talk myself into coughing up for the shipping.

Happy September all!

3 thoughts on “My favorite dishes.

  1. Shirley A Victorian says:

    They are rather pretty…

  2. […] have shared with you my interest in a vintage dish set called Home Pastures by Alfred […]

Leave a Reply

