The Museum of Man and Nature does costumes.

The Museum of Man and Nature has quite a bit of clothing but most of it is showing the clothing of the Aboriginals in this neck of the woods.  Don’t get me wrong.  I am interested in this clothing and I appreciate their function and beauty but I don’t love it like I do a fabulous DRESS.  That is why I nearly fell through the glass when I saw this darling.It doesn’t translate well in this photo but it is a plum purple color.

Velvet-trimmed silk walking suit and hat obtained through the Hudson’s Bay Company Winnipeg store in 1885 as part of a trousseau for Mrs Flett Fort Qu’Appelle

The cool thing about this dress is the little dingle balls that look like fur that has been dyed to match the dress.  Again I apologize that the photos didn’t turn out so well.  The dress was encased in a little glass room with dim lighting.  Obviously, this was done to try to preserve the dress.Details of the bodice.I tried to get a shot of the back but they only had this itty bitty mirror to work with.And the cute little hat.

 

2 thoughts on “The Museum of Man and Nature does costumes.

  1. Shirley A Victorian says:

    Beautiful…

Leave a Reply

