If I were born 100 years earlier….infancy

Sometimes I like to look at museum pieces and imagine myself in them…don’t we all!  Then I got to imagining what each phase of my life’s wardrobe would have looked like if I had been born 100 years earlier.  So lets play that game together.

If I had been born in 1864 what would I have worn.  Well, my mom was Catholic so I was baptised.  I would have worn something like this (actually looks like a longer, less synthetic version of what I actually did wear!)

1868 Christening dress from the Met

I likely would have worn a bonnet.  I could not find an example of a bonnet from the 1860s but I imagine they did not change too much in form over the decades.

1853 bonnet

My every day wear would be basically shorter less ornate versions of this until I started trying to totter around.

Next week I will try to find out what I might have worn in the late 1860s as a toddler.

2 thoughts on “If I were born 100 years earlier….infancy

Leave a Reply

