Well, that explains it…

I think I know what is going on with those stupid pop up ads.  I don’t like it but I guess I’ll have to live with it.  Here is what I found on WordPress’ help section.

We sometimes display advertisements on your blog to help pay the bills. This keeps free features free! We only run them in limited places, and we do not show ads to logged-in readers, which means only a very small percentage of your page views will actually contain ads. To eliminate ads on your blog entirely, you can purchase the No-Ads Upgrade for a single blog (per year).

So apparently, I’m the only one on my blog site who will be tormented with this crap…but I’m to cheap to cough up the cash to make them stop.  It does feel a hair like extortion, though….makes me think of the guy with the heavy accent and the nostrils that point towards his left ear that vows the store owner wont be robbed if he pays the protection fee.  Ok, slight exaggeration there….  I don’t like it but I don’t have to play their game.  No cursor will drift over those dumb red lines…no sireee Bob!

Anyway, on with the show.  Last week I shared what I might have worn as a 16-year-old in 1880.  By 1884 I would have been 20 and, surely, married.  So lets look at a wedding dress.  In my dreams I am well off so a white dress would have been feasible.  Just look at that lace at the neck edge.

1884 wedding dress from the met

Love it!

Made of silk and cotton

And now the smashing, grand train for the walk down the aisle.

Isn’t that divine!

I’m just not sure about the poof on the side.  Is it supposed to be there…the whole asymmetry thing…or is it just laying funny after being in a box for decades?  If I made this dress I wouldn’t do that poof thing.  I also wouldn’t do it in ivory for three reasons 1) I look better in pure white than ivory, 2) for sure the meal at the costume event would be tomato based and I’d end up dumping it on my ivory/white dress and 3) it would look too much like a wedding dress and some how a 47-year-old Victorian bride in white seems…well…off.  I don’t think they would have considered it dignified-even if she was still virginal.

4 thoughts on “Well, that explains it…

  1. I think the weird puff thing is a product of bad storage. At the same time, there are clearly some pleats in there to make a puff, so maybe it’s just laying wrong on the mannequin. If that was meant to be an asymmetrical addition it’s just… weird. :p
    I’m loving this series of blog posts. It’s so much fun seeing your hypothetical wardrobe being assembled! 🙂

  2. prttynpnk says:

    Distracting side pouf indeed!

Leave a Reply

