I just don’t know about this one.

Today’s cabinet card came from last weekends rummage in a flea market and it has more mysteries than knowns.  SAM_0239

At first I didn’t think there was a photographers mark on it but once I had it blown up on my computer I could see a teeny tiny photographers stamp on the bottom but it is so small I can’t quite make it out.  T Stuarts?  J Stuart?  And I can’t make out the town at all.SAM_0248Her clothes are a bit of a puzzle to me.  The top and the bottom don’t look like they go together at all.  The skirt looks like it was intended to be a separate that could be mixed and matched with different shirtwaists but the top looks like it is a bodice that originally had a matching skirt. Was she poor and in her best hand me downs?  Was she an immigrant that had different fashion ideas and traditions? We will never know.  We will also never know her name as no one included that on the photo.   If I had to hazard a guess about the date on this card it would  be the 1890s based on the shape of the skirt.

4 thoughts on “I just don’t know about this one.

  1. prttynpnk says:

    My sister-in law makes that face, but doesn’t dress as well.

  2. I don’t love her outfit, but I am fascinated by the expression on her face.

Leave a Reply

