Snow Day

Canadian kids all wait for the joy of snow days.  Those are days that schools are closed because the snow and roads are just too bad.  Canadians are a hardy bunch so it takes a lot of snow for the schools to close outright, but there are many a days that people take their own vehicles and driving skills into consideration and they keep their kids at home.

My normal routine is to get out of the house on Saturdays and try to do something worthy of a Sunday blog post.  (Actually, the husband’s clan was scheduled for a weekend of fun at a hotel in the States but it was cancelled due to the weather. There would have been some fun photos there!)

This is the weather.  Not horrible but not great...especially out on the highways

This is the weather. Not horrible but not great…especially out on the highways

I took my car and my driving skills into consideration and decided I wouldn’t be driving any where yesterday.

When you can't see where the ground and the road stop and start...it is too bad for me.

When you can’t see where the ground and the road stop and start…it is too bad for me.

Often, if the roads are bad I make the hubby drive me as his car and driving skills are much more winter worthy than mine.

You need a manly vehicle to get any where safely.

You need a manly vehicle to get any where safely.

But, since the family trip was cancelled, he joined up with my church’s men’s ice fishing retreat.  (Sitting on ice and freezing to death after a hair-raising drive to the boonies does not sound amusing to me…thank the Good Lord wives were not invited.)  With him gone, my butt stays home.  I’m having a snow day.

There is a certain kind of beauty in that.

There is a certain kind of beauty in that.

4 thoughts on “Snow Day

  1. tartanpants says:

    Ah I do miss the snow! I love the coziness of being indoors and looking out at a world of white xx

  2. Shirley A Victorian says:

    The blizzard was mild? You oviously stayed home. I couldn’t even go home after work to Selkirk. I had to stay in the city,thank god my daughter lives close to work. The ploughs did a great job though and we were able to still have my granddaughters 3rd birthday party at the childrens museum . When I got home there was a drift 4ft high and 12ft long blocking my front door. Shoveling does bring the nieghbourhood to life though!

Leave a Reply

