My new toy leads to a new toy.

My sewing machine has been around for decades.  I think it is from the 1950s or 60s.  It still works wonderfully.  BUT…..all it does is go forwards and backwards.  And the reason it has been around this long is it is made of solid steel.  The steel means that it is only portable because I have the men in my life move it for me.

Recently I changed all that.  I took all my birthday and Christmas money and bought this….SAM_0252Bells and whistles galore!  It does more than forwards and backwards!  Way more! And doesn’t weigh a thousand pounds! I wanted to try it out on a small project to see what it does.  I thought a muff that goes with my 1895 dinner ensemble would do the trick.  I have a cape for it so why not a muff as well.

I cut a rectangle out of some white broad cloth and out of the left over fashion fabric.  I used the overlock stitch on the edges.  This particular project didn’t really need it but I wanted to see how it worked because I have had some projects that I would have benefited from it.SAM_0258 I sewed the white cloth into the base of the muff using these instructions. SAM_0259I whipped stitched the edge by hand and got this.SAM_0261It was a bit shorter and fatter than I thought.  How is it one can follow instructions and end up with something different from the other person?  I think I may have over  stuffed mine.  It is still usable.

Then I worked on the cover fabric.  My purse and my cape have a leaf pattern in it so I decided to use the leaf stitch on my machine.  I’m thinking machine embroidery is not exactly historically authentic but we wont dither over details.

SAM_0262The next step was to put the cover together following these instructions.

I added an antique I had in my stash.SAM_0264Ta da!  I now have a new muff and I have a new love for my new machine!  Button holes are the next exciting option I now have….

As an added side note, I now have a submission for the Historical Sew Fortnightly Challenge 4: Embellish.

5 thoughts on “My new toy leads to a new toy.

  1. Shirley A Victorian says:

    Good job, it looks great. So happy you have a new toy. More sewing more fun!!!

  2. Yvonne says:

    Oh I bet you are really looking forwards to being reunited with your machine when you get back! I fancy a knitting machine, but so far have not taken the plunge because I don’t think it would get enough use to justify the expense. Maybe one day! 🙂

  3. […] that was done, I needed to think about my poor hands.  I went for the muff I made here. I had made it so I could change the cover to co-ordinate with other outfits.  But, in removing […]

Leave a Reply

