Wedding dress and tall groom

Hi!  I’m back.  My kid is on the mend and I’m ready to get back to blogging.  It has been awhile since I’ve done a cabinet card so that is what we will do today.

SAM_0981I’d say this is a wedding photo.  What do you think?  She is wearing all white with white gloves and a huge corsage with white flowers.  If you zoom in on the photo, you can see that the bodice of her dress appears to be in the style of a jacket with a faux shirtwaist under it.  I think she may have a necklace on as well.  The skirt is fairly plain but has a train on it and peeking under the skirt is a pleated petticoat.

My guess for dates is the late 80s because of her hairstyle and fitted sleeves.  The edge of the card is a beveled gold which was common starting in 1885.  A huge photographers stamp on the back was also common in the 1880s.SAM_0984I found a reference to FP Dunn at 240 Burnett St New Brunswick NJ here.  This site found evidence of this photographer being at this site in the 1880s which fits my theory.

Leave a Reply

