Alas, only half done.

Today is the day that the Dreamstress has set for completion of her 6th Challenge “Stripes”. I had hoped to have my whole 1840s copper penny dress done but alas, I only managed to finish the bodice part.  (Except for the hooks in the back that can only be added once the skirt has been added on.)SAM_0993I’m pretty pleased how it looks on Trudy.  I have yet to try it on.  I’ll have to wait until I can find someone who can pin the back shut for me.SAM_0992I’m not sure I’m loving the fringe on the back…it reminds me to much of a country and western shirt.

The Challenge: 6 Stripes

Fabric: Some sort of synthetic blend

Pattern: Truly Victorian German Gather Dress

Year: 1845

Notions: thread and fringe (also synthetic)

How historically accurate is it? 50%-the synthetic fibers and machine sewing drives the percentage down

Hours to complete: @32

First worn: Not yet

Total cost: About $50

I hope to get the skirt done in the next week.  This means I can submit it for the Squares, Rectangles and Triangles challenge in June.

Leave a Reply

