My entry for Historical Sew Fortnightly Challenge 7

SAM_0994I’m pleased with how it looks…but I may get a few more flowers and carry them further around the face.
SAM_0995I really like the poofs around the side of the hat!
SAM_0996The ruffle in the back was the only fiddly thing in making this hat.  I really like this pattern!
The Challenge: 7 accessorize
Fabric: taffeta, buckram, flannel
Pattern: Lynn McMasters Early Victorian Bonnet … Year: I want it for 1840s
Notions: wire, thread, fabric flowers-I wont call them silk, hot glue
How historically accurate is it? About 80%.  The fabric is iffy (I have no idea what was in the flannel) and I’m sure they didn’t use hot glue.
Hours to complete: @ 20
First worn: Not yet
Total cost: Lots of it was stash stuff so I’d say about $10See More
4 thoughts on “My entry for Historical Sew Fortnightly Challenge 7

  1. Shirley A. Victorian says:

    Well done… looks Great!!!

  2. Veronica K. says:

    Wow, lovely! How did you make the puffs around the side of the bonnet? They’re so cute!

    -Veronica

    • The puffs were part of the instructions. I just did running stitches across the width of the band and pulled them up tight until I liked the look of them. Two gathered running stiches makes one puff.

Leave a Reply

