One of CCM’s oldest dress

A few weekends ago, Shirley and I were helping out at the Canadian Costume Museum.  Shirley stumbled on a pre Victorian gem.  We didn’t have time to take it out of the box so I will show you a photo from the web site.  Half way down from the link, you will see the photos of the dress on a mannequin.          21_photogallery1_2196109541_52A030A

“Open Robe Gown with matching shoes, English, c.1780; silk and metallic thread brocade. Made in England of french fabric (c.1720) for Aleda Riddell Tucker, descendant of the first governor of Bermuda.”
Here is what we saw….the shoes.
SAM_1032
Close up of the shoes.
SAM_1031
The fichu….
SAM_1033
…with the white on white embroidery.
SAM_1034
Laying under that was the dress itself.
SAM_1036
It is obviously blue with silver threads.
SAM_1035
I thought the lace on the sleeves was divine!
SAM_1037
I was also strangely pleased by the economy of using other fabrics in the parts that wouldn’t be seen.
SAM_1038
Special thanks to Shirley for being my Vanna White!
4 thoughts on “One of CCM’s oldest dress

  1. shirley a victorian says:

    They have so many beautiful things there. I can’t wait until next time!!!

  2. Anna Worden Bauersmith says:

    Oh, those shoes! Love them. I starred at those shoes so long I almost didn’t scroll down and nearly missed the close-up shots of the fabric undernieth. You have made my day! That fabric is so close, oh so very close to the fabric I will be using for my 1813 ballgown, just in a poppy peach color instead of blue. I have been so unsure of the gold metal design until now. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

