Stage Fright!

This weekend our city will be opening the doors of a few of our older buildings to the public.  Some of the buildings, like the old jail, have been closed to the public for decades.  The old jail will be opened and some of its history will be brought to light through actors playing the parts of people who once walked the halls of this place.

I have been asked to play the part of Dr Amelia Yeomans, the second woman doctor in Winnipeg and a staunch warrior who fought for better working and living conditions for immigrants, women and children. Dr Amelia Yeomans

There is a resemblence…especially around the second chin area!

Dr Amelia fought for more humane treatments in the jail.  And she fought for women to have the right to vote.  And she seems like she would have been a REALLY nice person.  I think I would have liked her if I had met her and I also think I would have felt…I don’t know…may be inadequate or weak next to her.  She was a real mover and shaker in a time when women were expected to keep themselves and the babies quiet.

I know I feel inadequate to play her.  Mostly because I’ve never done any real acting.  Each tour group is expected to be at each character and station for 10 minutes.  So every 10 minutes I will be showing my Amelia Yeomans play for two whole days.  I will either hit my stride after a few runs at it or I will SUCK terribly and it will be a very long weekend! Wish me luck!

To read about Dr Amelia go here and here.

 

3 thoughts on “Stage Fright!

  1. cheyenek says:

    Good luck! It sounds like great fun. At any rate, I’m sure you’ll do a good job, and that’s pretty cool that your town is doing this and asked you to take part in helping it happen!

    • Thanks! It should be good fun once I get past the first few folks. My town didn’t ask me…just a friend who has a special interest in the old jail. I may get my 15 minutes of fame out of this. 🙂

  2. […] back at the old jail for Doors Open this year.  My first year at the jail, I played the first female doctor in Manitoba, the second year I played a prostitute, last year I was a generic mourner and this year I am Cora […]

Leave a Reply

