A nice white dress

From the last Costume Museum of Canada event that Shirley and I helped with, I have another dress to show you.  It is from 1912 and is covered in lovely lace!

1912 a

The lace makes this simple dress quite pretty!  I wish I could make lace like this!

1912 b

 

For some odd reason, the under dress is the original with the big red flowers and all.  I guess they were meant to peek through, giving just hints of color.  I don’t care for that detail myself.  It kind of looks like a mistake and it takes away from the lace.

1912 c

 

I like the little dingle balls.  I’ve seen some cars, back in the day, done with these….

 

Leave a Reply

