Swim suit gets out!

Shirley and I went to the beach for a relaxing Saturday afternoon.  One of the nice things about wearing a costume is getting an idea about how a person might feel in these garments.  And sometimes we learn that some of our preconceived notions are wrong.  For example, the notion that a corset is uncomfortable and regular life is impossible in it is WRONG.  My preconceived notion that a bathing suit that goes from neck to knee would be hot turned out to be incorrect.  Granted, it wasn’t one of our more blazing hot days but it was warm.  And I was not roasting alive.  I was quite comfortable.  In fact, I was more comfortable than in a bathing suit.  Sand was not in places it shouldn’t be.  I was not checking to see if the girls and behind were staying contained in the suit.  I didn’t have acres of skin cooking away in the sun.  And Shirley, after getting her suit wet, found it dried in a most cooling fashion.  Now, on with the photos.

We started out nice and dainty....

We started out nice and dainty….

I really like this one!

I really like this one!

After a little picnic lunch, we explored the rocks.

After a little picnic lunch, we explored the rocks.

Oooo, the sun...!

Oooo, the sun…!

A dip in the water.  Notice the skirt is removed.

A dip in the water. Notice the skirt is removed.

Shirley was braver than I.

Shirley was braver than I.

Time to dry off.

Time to dry off.

Until next time!

Until next time!

4 thoughts on “Swim suit gets out!

  1. jennphelps1 says:

    Love it! Did you make it of wool? Did it stretch out when wet?

    • Shirley and I both made our suits out of cotton (one of the possible fabrics listed on the pattern) as summers here can be BRUTALLY hot and we felt wool would have been very uncomfortable. Wool would have stretched but the cotton held its shape.

  2. Lina says:

    Your Victorian bathing costumes (and photos) are beautiful! I’ve recently sewn an Edwardian bathing suit, but haven’t worn it for swimming yet: http://www.sewhistorically.com/edwardian-bathing-costume

Leave a Reply

