Opera Card?

You know how Americans collect baseball cards and Canadians collect hockey cards?  Well, I guess, Victorians collected Opera Cards and Actress Cards.

I have one to share with you.

Madame Euphrosyne Parepa-Rosa was a soprano in Britain.

SAM_1336

 

Yup, I’m built like a Victorian soprano.

This photo was likely taken between 1867 when she married Carl Rosa and 1873 when she died in childbirth.  She was 37.

I bought the card because I was attracted to the funky little faux-apron and her hair style.

Leave a Reply

