Whew! It is done!

I’ve learned a lot from the experience.  The first is that corset making isn’t that bad!  The second is that if I use a thinner fashion fabric, I should use a thicker inter-liner (too many wrinkles).   And finally, if I am going to trace the pattern pieces off of an existing garment, I need to go back and compare the pieces to the garment with a tape measure.  My tracing and eyeballing during assembly didn’t work out.  I originally thought it was an inch bigger than my original, (which is what I was going for) but it is much bigger…in fact, some how, it is the same size as the one I tore apart which was an inch to big!

SAM_1448

But it is still usable.  It will work with my swimsuit and my tea gown (which I will alter soon).  Some women did wear corsets with those garments, but they would have been looser.  Being cotton, they will be cooler as well and for lounging outfits like a swim suit and tea gown, cool is better.

I do wear a corset almost daily to deal with back pain.  If I am on my feet a lot, I need a corset that is tighter than this one goes but if it is a sit a bit, stand a bit kinda day this one will work as well.

So, not a raging success but better than I was expecting!  I have the confidence now to say ordering more hardware for another one will not be throwing my money away!  That wont happen this calendar year, but perhaps next year.

 

The Challenge: 19 wood metal bone

Fabric: cotton

Pattern: traced from existing manufactured corset

Year: any year where a underbust works

Notions: bones, busk, bias tape, thread

How historically accurate is it?: The fabric is plausible.  I doubt they machine sewed everything.  The bones are metal not baleen. I can’t be sure that the original modern corset is based on anything historical.  I wonder how many women would have made their own corset?  Is it like the modern bra where even the poorest of women bought pre-made and some could afford tailored? So 30%?

Hours to complete: @20

First worn: for the photo

Total cost: $15

5 thoughts on “Whew! It is done!

  1. Caroline says:

    I like your fabric! Why do corsets grow? I swear they always grow. Must be they stretch when you lace them up the first time.

    • I’m thinking that is what happened. It is all cotton so that has to be it. I just can’t believe it stretched so much! I didn’t cut on the bias. Oh well, I expected a learning curve. I am happy that it is at least usable!

  2. cheyenek says:

    Your corset is nice and the fabric is pretty. 🙂
    As for the sizing, tell me about it… I’ve been in an epic war with an 1880 corset pattern… the first one I made was extremely comfortable, but was way too big! And the second one, which I just finished, it too small in the bust area!
    Corsets, dude, corsets.

    • I’m glad my first one was and under bust because I have epic battles fitting things on the girls as it is…never mind trying to corset them. And I’m fairly sure they aren’t the same size. Hows that for to much information.

      • cheyenek says:

        Lol! That gave me a good laugh! I just finished adding two triangles to my corset in the bust area, and now it doesn’t look quite as nice, but it is SO comfy now. Corsets and bodices are just a pain to fit for us ladies. Men have it easy. EASY, I say!

Leave a Reply

