Oooo, the hair!

I have a fabulous carte de visite for this post.  Judging by the dress and hair I’d say this is from the 1870s.

SAM_1488The “frame” around the is photo is actually the page from an album that has been ripped out.  (Yeah, I know, I cringed too.)  This is what it looks like out of the album page.

SAM_1490In the 1870’s, they were very fond of elaborate hair styles.  And perhaps this lady was the cutting edge and perfectly acceptable in her time but to my eyes, she looks to be older (the eyes and jowls say late 50’s early 60’s) and the hair style is too young.  Mutton dressed as a lamb.  But that dress is something isn’t it!  I wish I could get a better look at the collar part.

SAM_1491

According to Watch the Birdie,  J Grey was a photographer in Stonehouse Devonshire from 1866-1893.

Leave a Reply

