I’ve met the Queen (insert wink here)

Yesterday, Shirley and I went to a small city south of our larger city and attended a church sponsored Victorian Tea.  My expectations were for something very modest.  Tea in plastic pots and matching industrial tea cups, bad costumes and piped in music.  For the decor I expect…I don’t know what.  It was a day out in costume with a good friend.  That was where I expected to get all my joy from.

Was I pleasantly surprised!

Then they opened the doors and I saw a wonderful staging in the hallway.

When they opened the doors, I saw a wonderful staging in the hallway.

If the hallway was so wonderfully done, I decided I might need to lift my expectations a bit.

There were several trees done in Victorian decorations.

There were several trees done in Victorian decorations.

Had we been able to see the tickets before hand (we picked them up at the door) we may have been prepared for how much work they put into this!

Very well done tickets!

Very well done tickets!  Ignore the date.  For some reason we got the tickets for today’s show and not yesterdays.

We were seated with some lovely ladies from the Red Hat Society.  They were so friendly and sweet!SAM_1581We were served tea by some maids who stayed in character the whole time.SAM_1583Another thing I was not expecting was that is tea with a show.  There was a play that ran through out the event featuring what was going on “downstairs” while the Queen was “upstairs” hosting a Christmas event.  The kitchen departments were trying to come up with a special treat for the Queen.  The Queen herself was part of the play, delivering a welcome speech to her guests.SAM_1593

As the rest of the play went on, the Queen and her Lady-in-Waiting had tea with us at their own table.

SAM_1599

After the play and food part were done, Shirley and I arranged to “meet the Queen”!

meeting the QueenIt seems I am much taller than the Queen!

Time for photo ops!

Shirley in the Queens seat!

Shirley in the Queens seat!

Shirley and I in the office of the head of the Confectionery Department

Shirley and I in the office of the head of the Confectionery Department

Shirley posing with some of the treats we could buy during the event.  Profits went to charity.

Shirley posing with some of the treats we could buy during the event. Profits went to charity.

We were very saddened to hear they only do this every second year and each time it is possible they will not have the energy to do this again!  I’ve marked my calendar to look for it in two years time.  Hopefully, we will be able to fill a whole table by then!

4 thoughts on “I’ve met the Queen (insert wink here)

  1. That looks very sweet. What fun!

  2. I enjoyed reading about your adventure, thank you for sharing 🙂

    Love&Light
    Gunnvor Karita

Leave a Reply

