The sun really does fade fabrics!

I knew the sun has the capacity to fade fabrics over time.  What I didn’t know was how fast it can happen.  My new, as yet unworn, 100% silk dress has faded. I had it in my living room window for a couple of weeks-cloudy weeks at that!-and it has faded.  Grrrrrr.

SAM_2035Can you see the difference?  Lie to me and tell me you can’t.  All I can say is I’m glad I didn’t spend $52 a meter.  I’m also wondering if I should ever buy silk again (even at the great prices I found in the States).  It is just too fragile.  I doubt the dresses I made out to curtain fabrics would have done this! Sigh, live and learn the hard way!

 

4 thoughts on “The sun really does fade fabrics!

  1. Anna Worden Bauersmith says:

    My Grandma taught me a nifty trick. She would put a piece of masking tape across a piece of fabric. Then set it in the window for a few weeks. When the tape was removed, she could see how much it would fade. I did the uber-fast version, putting the piece in the window of my car. It was very helpful.
    I am so sorry this happened with a dress you hadn’t had a chance to wear yet. I happen to like the green/gray the fabric faded to. It has a subtle, pretty pleasantness to it. But, it is a different color sceme than you started with.

    • And the trouble is that even though the green grey is not bad, it isn’t the same the whole way round the dress! I did consider leaving it up for a few more weeks and slowly spinning to try and even it out but decided it wasn’t worth the risk. I’ll just have to live with it.

  2. Oh no! I’ve been following the making of your dress every step of the way, and I’m dying to get to “the end” and see you wear it…!

    I’m so sorry the fabric faded 😦 I know the risk, since I sometimes dry clothes outside in a roofed in “nook” on my veranda… It has happened that things were forgotten over the weekend, and I have come home to light stripes where they were folded over the clothes line 😦 I agree, curtain fabric seems the best choice for something you want to keep for a long, long time…

    Love&Light
    Gunnvor Karita 🙂

    PS I do see the difference, but in my opinion it is barely noticable 😉

    • I think it is one of those flaws that I will notice (and it will bug me) but most folks wont. No one will be looking at it long enough to really notice. The over all effect of a huge gown in a crowd of blue jeans and t-shirt will drown out the flaw.

Leave a Reply

