HSF challenge 8: UFO

This has been done for a couple of weeks but still within the guidelines of the challenge (which is 6 weeks before the due date).  How refreshing to be done with a ton of wiggle room compared to high pressure last minute sliding in across the finish line or coming in 2 weeks after every one has packed up and left the race track.SAM_2026

I had started the bodice for the bodice challenge but only got as far as the mock up.

The Challenge: 8 UFO

Fabric: silk

Pattern: TV 443

Year: 1861

Notions: lace buttons

How historically accurate is it? probably one of my more accurate because it is real silk and not a fake. I didn’t use an 1860’s sewing machine, my buttons are plastic, the lace is machine-made and I have no idea if that was happening yet. I have no hot clue if my fabric is weaved (wove? woven?-lol) like they did it in the 1860’s so I’ll give it an 85-90%

Hours to complete: I forgot to count. 30?

First worn: not yet. I hope to wear it May 7th for a fashion show. That is if emotional eating doesn’t cause so much weight gain that I grow out of it 

Total cost: about $50

I also finished the hem on my skirt, which I had left undone until I had the hoops finished.

 

6 thoughts on “HSF challenge 8: UFO

  1. A silk dress like that for 50 bucks!? I’m quite impressed!

  2. Val LaBore says:

    I like what you did with the lace. Is it one long piece? Great idea for another “not cookie cutter” dress.
    And yeah! $50 for silk?
    Val

    • It was one long piece of lace. When I bought the silk and lace I had no idea what I was going to do with it. But, once the bodice was done, it told me what it wanted done. It went around perfectly with 5 sections left over. One for each sleeve and one for each of the 3 points in the back. Serendipity. And amen to the $50. I can pay that amount for one meter of it here in Canada. Hence all of my other dresses are made of mystery fibers.

      • Val LaBore says:

        I had it grilled into me when I first started that I should only use natural fibers so I forked out $10 a yard for silk taffeta ten years ago, but prefer 100% cotton most of the time. But over the years I’ve relaxed, and even found a faux silk taffeta for $6-$8 yd that looks, feels, and acts like the real thing, and is machine washable. I’ve also used a couple cottons with polyester in them just because it gave it the weight and hand I needed. But I usually line everything in cotton so that’s what touches my skin.
        I know some of my friends have purchased Lampas silk that runs $100 yard, I just can’t talk myself into paying big bucks for a costume anymore. For heaven sakes, its a costume.

      • That is exactly how I feel! I buy my EVERYDAY clothes at a thrift store because I can’t justify paying $50 for a shirt when I can get a good shirt for $5! And I get compliments on my clothes all of the time! I am not looking shabby!
        When you are a plus size girl and you need 8-10 meters of fabric to make one of these dresses-$50-100 a meter is nuts! Only to go and dump juice on it on the first wear or have it fade in the sun light before it has ever been worn! And lending to someone else! Never at those prices! It is a costume and a hobby for me. Not re-enactment. Not a museum prop. Not a job. Not a contest. Not haute couture. Not everyday wear. And the majority of the folks who see me, would never know the difference between real silk and fake. If we are talking, I don’t tell them lies but I don’t need to blow a grand on a dress to be fun and educational.

      • kurajane says:

        ah, the good old ‘mystery fibre’ content, it certainly accounts for the majority of my outfits 😉

Leave a Reply

