I’m not normally a shopaholic

If you know me, you know I’m not obsessed with shopping.  I used to be when I was younger…got myself into some debt because of it and I’ve since grown up and learned my lesson.  Don’t get me wrong!  I don’t go without.  I treat myself too.  I just think before I do it.  I save for big-ticket items.  I buy fakes if they are cheaper and reasonably convincing.  I buy used rather than new.  And I think about it before I dive in.  But, I did dive in pretty deep this weekend.

I needed some fabric for my next project.  And there was no suitable material in my stash.  So off to my fabric store I went.  But, I bought fake silk…not real.  It was $45 a meter cheaper!SAM_2068

And crafty me…I talked my family into paying for that fabric by suggesting they donate money to the credit card rather than buying me a Mother’s Day gift.  Pretty fab gift I must say!

Then on Mother’s Day, my favorite thrift store was having a 50% off sale.  Woot Woot!  Off I go.  I snagged a pair of shoes that will go perfectly with my new costume.  I think they are from India.  The innards are real leather.  There doesn’t seem to be a right or a left-just like the early Victorian times.  The bling is a bit much but when you see where I’m going with this costume, you will forgive me.  And they cost $6.50.  How sweet is that!

I also got another pair of boots that will be great for early Victorian as well.  And they are a lot more sensible (read:lower heel) than my other boots.SAM_2069

If you look close they miss the mark, but from far away, they are believable.  I forgot how much I paid for these. May be $10?

Finally, I bought a little pin that I will be adding to my costume when it is done.

 

SAM_2070That was full price… a whopping $3.  All in all, I am pleased with my haul.

Now all I need is some free time to start my project.  I think I will take the pattern to work and read the instructions and cut out the pieces during my lunch break.

 

Leave a Reply

