Neither rain nor snow…

Shirley and I were a pair of brave troopers and headed out to our Victoria Day event in spite of the near torrential rain. Here are some of my favorite photos.

We were given a ride on a sheltered golf cart to the "Big House"

We were given a ride on a sheltered golf cart to the “Big House”

Unlike last year, we spent quite a bit of time in the basement checking out the kitchens.

Unlike last year, we spent quite a bit of time in the basement checking out the kitchens.

We did a few lady like "at work" poses.

We did a few lady like “at work” poses.

Then we got a bit silly.  Shirley wanted to flaunt her lovely Victorian shape.

Then we got a bit silly. Shirley wanted to flaunt her lovely Victorian shape.

And I wanted to show of my thrift store find of "sensible shoes".

And I wanted to show of my thrift store find of “sensible shoes”.

We then decided to brave the rain (which had slowed down) for some outdoor shots.

We then decided to brave the rain (which had slowed down) for some outdoor shots.

We walked out of the the Fort walls to some of the outer building.

We walked out of the Fort walls to some of the outer building.

The river gave us some interesting, if gloomy, back grounds.

The river gave us some interesting, if gloomy, back grounds.  As you can tell by my expression, I’m feeling bedraggled because of the rain and because my skirt was too long and I kept stepping on it and dragging it through the dirt!

Shirley is managing to look dainty and fine!

Shirley is managing to look dainty and fine!

Ah!  Dry land!

Ah! Dry land!

I wanted a photo like this...I liked last years so much.

I wanted a photo like this…I liked last years so much.

I made Shirley do the same pose.  Once the photo was done Shirley looked at me and found that I had put my hat back on...backwards!  I wish I could say I planned it that way!

I made Shirley do the same pose. Once the photo was done Shirley looked at me and found that I had put my hat back on…backwards! I wish I could say I planned it that way!

One thought on “Neither rain nor snow…

  1. […] a proud Canadian, I had to make comparisons with the Fort in my neck of the woods.  Their Fort is older.  Point for […]

Leave a Reply

