Score at the store and glee at the tea

This past weekend I got in a bit of shopping.  I wasn’t gonna do it, I swear!  But, I was right next door at the chiropractor’s office and I was a bit dizzy after he fixed my neck-to dizzy to drive and, well there was a sale on….

The lace was 75% off and the buckles were 60% off.  How could I turn it down.

The lace was 75% off and the buckles were 60% off. How could I turn it down?

The fringe and the wide lace were bought for this project.

Queen Victoria 1840 John Partridge

Queen Victoria 1840 John Partridge

Then I met some old friends for tea.  We hadn’t seen each other for a couple of years and hooked up again because of Facebook.  Because of Facebook, they found out about my odd little hobby and thought I might like some things from their Great Aunt H…some of which came from her mother!  Ah…YEAH!

Ooooo....ahhhhhh!

Ooooo….ahhhhhh!

I don’t know how old this stuff is but they thought 100 years anyway…so Edwardian at least. I think that since I’m okay with using 2014 made buttons on Victorian costumes, I can probably be okay with a 1900 and something one eh?

A belt buckle with all the working bits still intact and some buttons that would go well with it.

A belt buckle with all the working bits still intact and some buttons that would go well with it.

Cloak fastener.

There is another round and functional cut steel belt buckle on the left and the gold item is a cloak fastener.

That cloak fastener is screaming for a red wool cloak to hold shut.  It is clever in its simplicity.  Two buttons, one with a chain welded on to it.  You sew the buttons on the cloak, one to each side and use the chain as a button-hole.  Ta da!

More cut steal buttons...but smaller.

More cut steal buttons…but smaller.

What is that underneath those steel buttons?

Cute buttons with horseless carriages on them!

Cute buttons with horseless carriages on them!  I may have to make an Edwardian Duster…

Some brass buttons to inspire me are here as well!

They have a horn and a crown on them.

They have a horn and the English crown on them.

And then….

The perfect handkercheif for my next costume!  So dainty!  So pretty!  Pretty old!

The perfect handkerchief for my next costume! So dainty! So pretty! Pretty old!

And now I have a choice to make…The wide lace I bought in the morning…or the wide lace given to me in the evening….

Sigh.

Sigh.

I’m thinking the given lace is the better match.  But it means I have to cut it in half.  Can I do it?  I’ll have to tell myself that lace is meant to make something lacy.  I’d only be fulfilling its destiny by cutting it and using it rather than stuffing it in another box…. It is probably only vintage and not truly antique…yet.

5 thoughts on “Score at the store and glee at the tea

  1. Shirley A. Victorian says:

    Be daring…. Go with your heart!!!

  2. valarielynn says:

    Yes, let all your friends know about your passion and quirky interests. Who knows when someone will have something they don’t want from their great grandmothers and will be glad to give it to someone who would appreciate it. We will be their “adopted ancestors”. 🙂
    Val- Time Traveling in Costume

    • I think it is a wonderful thing if an old thing gets a new lease on its life when someone will appreciate it and use it (even if it is only used to look at and enjoy). Puff the Magic Dragon, the Velveteen Rabbit and Toy Story have made me into a person who humanizes inanimate objects!

  3. […] Challenge: soft entry for Heirlooms Challenge. The mantle it is on was made many moons ago. But when I was given the buckle I thought it was perfect for the mantle I made. This challenge seemed the perfect time to put it […]

Leave a Reply

