All dressed up and no place to go

That is exactly how I’d feel with this dress.  Lovely but where would I wear it?  When I did the fashion show at my church last month, I explained that I like to sew my costumes the way a Victorian woman might choose her clothes (and the way we still do today).  I’m middle-aged so I try to avoid colors and styles that a middle-aged woman wouldn’t wear.  I try to trim dresses in ways that detract from figure flaws with varying degrees of success.  And I make decisions based on my persona of an upper middle class city woman who has a “girl to do that”.  No Little House on the Prairie ensembles for me…at least not yet.  And not to many “having dinner with the Prime Minister” gowns either.  Where would I wear it?  Winnipeg does not have that many high-end upper crust Victorian venues and the ones we do have are still a bit dear for me!

But, I can admire this Edwardian number even though I can’t see myself in it.

Front view of 1911 beaded gown

Front view of 1911 beaded gown

Close up of bodice

Close up of bodice

I love the pinks and purples with the black.

Close up of one of the motifs on the gown

Close up of one of the motifs on the gown

Side view

Side view

I think this would have been worn to a grand affair.  Remember the day when the symphony or the opera (or air travel) were grand affairs that demanded a bit more effort than sweat pants and a pony tail?

Close up of the sleeve

Close up of the sleeve

The train.  I had folks (with gloves on of course) lift the train to feel the weight of it.  I'd guess that whole gown weighed 10 pounds!

The train. I had folks (with gloves on of course) lift the train to feel the weight of it. I’d guess that whole gown weighed 10 pounds!

To bad that photo was blurry.  Stupid me forgetting my camera and only having a dying iPhone!

Leave a Reply

