The one that nearly made me cry

My final offering from the Costume Museum of Canada’s display in May is a 1911 day suit.  I don’t love this era but this one was so pretty I nearly cried when I saw it.  It is purple!

I was so in love with the details on this gown that I forgot to take a photo of the full front.

I was so in love with the details on this gown that I forgot to take a photo of the full front. Isn’t the collar yummy!

It looks like the details were machine sewn but that would have been one skilled machinist!

The buttons were divine!

The buttons were divine!

May be this is a better shot of the front?

1911 purple suit c CMC

 

Oh, the trim, the trim…sigh.

Side view.

Side view.

In my mind, I saw this jacket with a pair of jeans and boots.  As modern wear, you’d have strangers running up to you and asking where you bought it.

The cuff and collar contrast with the main part of the suit.

The cuff and collar contrast with the main part of the suit.

As you can see, the details are everywhere!

Close up of one of the motifs.

Close up of one of the motifs.

This suit was in danger of being stuffed into my car.  Great danger.

Back  view.

Back view.

Close up of back.

Close up of back.

And even with the jacket off, this suit stays lovely.

Skirt

Skirt

I’d love to make a copy of this suit but I’d never be able to put all that work into it.  And where would I find buttons like those.

2 thoughts on “The one that nearly made me cry

  1. That is incredibly beautiful. I really love soutache braid, especially when it’s the same color as the background.

Leave a Reply

