Cooks Creek Medieval Festival or new family tradition

Had a great time at the Cooks Creek Medieval festival.  Not my genre but still oodles of fun.  My son dressed up willingly.  The husband dressed up sacrificially.

SAM_2369

The festival is held to raise funds to keep this Catholic church in good repair.

SAM_2392

This is the interior of the church.  Really quite lovely.

SAM_2374

A bird rescue group had a few birds on display.

SAM_2380

There were plenty of photo ops.

SAM_2395

And some superior costumes out there…

SAM_2385

….unlike my “slightly better than a department store Halloween special”.  I whipped it up from a Burda pattern (didn’t even deviate from the colors on the packaging.)

SAM_2388

The over skirt is a bit on the short side.  When you hurry you make mistakes, but I really don’t mind it this way.  I don’t care enough to research and perfect for this era.  Nor do I care enough to try to fix this, which I think I could with a bit of work.

The jousting was the thing I most looked forward to seeing at the festival! The horses were really quite lovely but they are dangerous and HUGE!  During one of the warm up sessions, one of the knights was thrown by the horse and ended up with a concussion and broken shoulder.  The speaker commented that jousting is not necessarily dangerous…but horses can be.

SAM_2401

Even the armor was lovely!

SAM_2431

The event will happen again in two years time and I will be going again!  Let’s see if I can get my family in on it again!

4 thoughts on “Cooks Creek Medieval Festival or new family tradition

  1. rachelcarli says:

    you guys look great!! looks fun 🙂

  2. Seems like you had lots of fun there, I can judge this by your pics. The costumes looks so perfect and ideal for both medieval as well as renaissance festival.

Leave a Reply

