Back on line

My computer is fixed now so we can try another post.  So how about a post about some very old shoes at the Costume Museum of Canada.

They have been dated as 1770-80

This one has been dated as 1770-80

The front has a metallic thread embroidery.

The front has a metallic thread embroidery.

They have an odd heel that I had never seen before.  Apparently they are called Italian heels.

They have an odd heel that I had never seen before. Apparently they are called Italian heels.

It is actually a single shoe.  Who knows what happened to its mate.  This one is pretty worn out.  I guess the other one didn't do as well.

It is actually a single shoe. Who knows what happened to its mate. This one is pretty worn out. I guess the other one didn’t do as well.

Here is another pair, dated 1780.  These were cool because you could still see the holes from the prongs of the buckles.  I don't know why I found that amazing.

Here is another pair, dated 1780. These were cool because you could still see the holes from the prongs of the buckles. I don’t know why I found that amazing.  It was like seeing the holes made me connected to the wearer…I could see evidence of them using them.  They were also cool because I didn’t know that the heels were low during this time period.

Leave a Reply

