ALS/MND and the Ice Bucket Challenge

I’ve been thinking about ALS a lot lately.  Not because of the Ice Bucket Challenge that has gone viral here in North America. (If you have no idea what I’m talking about go to YouTube and type in ALS Ice Bucket Challenge.) I’m thinking about it because a member of my family has had his diagnosis confirmed 3 weeks ago.  This is one of the reasons I’ve been having problems getting myself interested in blogging and other hobbies.

ALS is a brutal disease where the nerves that allow us to control the muscles in our body are damaged.  Over time (and in the case of my family member it seems like not a very long period of time) the person becomes weaker and weaker and they begin to lose abilities.  Abilities like combing hair, picking up a cup, getting out of a chair, walking, and standing in a shower become more and more difficult and finally impossible.  Once the disease had finished laying waste to the muscles in the arms and legs it moves inward and goes after the muscles involved in breathing.  It is usually respiratory problems that finish them off in 2-5 years.  It affects not only the person with the condition.  It affects the people they live with.  Who thinks that in their late 40’s they will be caring for their spouse?  Sure, you think that might be your life in your 70’s but not in your 40’s.  What kid thinks that they will need to make life choices in their 20’s based on the physical needs of their declining parents?  That is something you start thinking about in you 50’s!

So when I was asked if I’d take up the challenge, I agreed.  I don’t particularly care to dump ice on my head and perhaps I wont.  I have a choice.  I will do the most important parts though.  I will tell others about the disease because they might not know about it.  I will tell them how they can donate money and I will tell them where.  I WILL DONATE MONEY BECAUSE I HAVE A CHOICE ABOUT WHETHER OR NOT TO DUMP ICE ON MY HEAD BUT PEOPLE WITH ALS DIDN’T GET TO CHOSE WHETHER OR NOT THEY WILL GET IT!

So I challenge my readers to the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge and you can donate here:

ALS Society of Canada
3000 Steeles Avenue East, Suite 200
Markham, ON
L3R 4T9

or here

The ALS Association- 1275 K Street NW – Suite 250 – Washington, DC 20005

or here

Motor Neurone Disease Australia Inc.
ABN 52 650 269 176
PO Box 990 Gladesville NSW 1675

 

 

Leave a Reply

