Silver Lining?

My oldest boy moved to another country a couple of weeks ago.  He went from living in my basement one month to living in another country the next.  Mommy is not happy.  Because of the empty room I found myself with,  I decided to make something good come from it.  I finally have my very own sewing/craft room.  photo 1

 I have a table for my projects and sewing machine.  There is room for my computer if I am wanting to watch movies while I work.  The table folds down if I’m doing smaller projects and want it taking up less space.  The shelves have some of my hats and will have things that I might want to be handy when sewing.  I’m thinking of adding some sort of hooks to the shelves so that my scissors would be in easy reach.  The dresser will hold my fabric stash, patterns and perhaps my trimmings and hat making supplies.

photo 3

There is room for Trudy now.  She doesn’t need to lurk in my closet or at the foot of my bed.   To the right of Trudy there is a  closet and it is jammed to the top with my costumes and accessories.  I really don’t have much more room for more costumes and yet I persist!

The bed is staying.  I can use it as a guest room if I need to. The other reason I’m keeping the bed is I have some hope that the boy will eventually come home and will need a landing place until he resets up his life here in Canada.  If if he needs to stay long term…well Mommy will have this room unpacked in a half and day and she will be doing it with a smile on her face! For now I’m thinking of getting huge pillows so I can make the bed into a day bed kind a thing so I can sit and do hand sewing.

Finally, I want some pictures on the wall.  I’ve been looking for things in a flea market but not having much success.  I want something that will act as inspiration for the sewing and doesn’t cost a fortune.  As I sit in here, I think I might not actually need to buy anything.  I have a drawer full of cabinet cards.  I could pick out my favorites and hang them up.  SAM_1699I think they would be safe.  There is a window in the room but it faces the wall of the next house so there isn’t any direct light.  There is a 50% off sale at a local thrift store…maybe I can pick up a dozen little frames…. I could also get some hooks and get more of my hats out of the closet and hanging on the wall.  I have to find that delicate balance between inspiring stimulation and offensive mess!

The room is not finished yet but I’m already enjoying it.  With out the sewing room, this would have been running down the middle of my dinning room table at supper last night.photo 2

It is my project for the terminology challenge in the Historical Sew Fortnightly.  It is due today.  I don’t think that will happen!

Leave a Reply

