Last Tuesday’s Treasure: Boots

I have three pairs of boots to show you that are part of the collection of the Costume Museum of Canada.

These carriage boots are labeled as 1900-10.

These carriage boots are labeled as 1900-10. They are in near perfect condition.

Here are another pair of boot also from that decade…boot 1

The mystery with them is what is with the "cleats" on the soles.  Anyone have any ideas?

The mystery with them is: what is with the “cleats” on the soles? Anyone have any ideas?

The more I think about these the more they puzzle me.  Is it possible they were an “athletic” or “hiking” boot? Is it possible they have been mislabeled and they are a man’s boot?  Anyone have any clues?  And finally…

1890-1900.  I love these!

1890-1900. I love these! Ignore the funny marks on the toe of the shoe on the right.  It is just a piece of clear plastic that is laying on top.  I didn’t notice it when I was taking the photo.

Leave a Reply

