1899-1900 dress

I have a back log of dresses that I’ve photographed from displays that were set up for the Costume Museum of Canada.  The dress I will show you today is likely an evening or dinner gown dated 1899-1900.  It is pretty conservative so I’d say it is for an older woman or perhaps a woman in the later stages of mourning.

Front view.  Notice the two black strips on the front of the gown.  I like that!

Front view. Notice the two black strips on the front of the gown. I like that

The strips are held on with snaps.

The strips are held on with snaps.

The above photo also shows the Battenberg lace on the bodice.

Beading detail on the strips.

Beading detail on the strips.

The belt buckle is cut steel...and I just happened to have some of those in my stash.  They were donated!  Gears are turning....

The belt buckle is cut steel…and I just happened to have some of those in my stash. They were donated! Gears are turning….

Nice grey floral print on the black fabric.

Nice grey floral print on the black fabric.

Basic look for the back.

Basic look for the back.

A couple of layers of pleated netting on the bottom of the skirt.  They add a hint of whispiness and probably helped the skirt hold its shape.

A couple of layers of pleated netting on the bottom of the skirt. They add a hint of “wispy” and probably helped the skirt hold its shape.

Leave a Reply

