Mexico-my home away from home

I’m back from my annual pilgrimage to Mexico.  The past two years, we have been going to Playa Del Carmen but this year we tried Cancun.  Cancun wasn’t my cup of tea.  It has a busy city/party place feel and I’m past that stage in life.  But, I can’t say I had a bad time because I really didn’t.

There was fabulous views

There was fabulous views

Cute sites and photo ops

Cute sites and photo ops

Interesting food...okay, I didn't eat these because there was so much more to choose from.  But I thought these were cute.

Interesting food…okay, I didn’t eat these because there was so much more to choose from. But I thought these were cute.

We saw a show with a fire eater.

We saw a show with a fire-eater.

We had a catamaran ride.   It was pretty wavy so Mr Victorian got a bit sea sick.

We had a catamaran ride. It was pretty wavy so Mr Victorian got a bit sea sick.

I tried sitting up front on the “hood” of the catamaran but it was so wavy I was sure I was going to slide right off my perch into the ocean.  There was a sweet little Chilean Grandmother in the same “boat” as myself and we clung to each other for dear life.  Once we moved to the back and sat in proper seats all was well.  But, I made a friend for life.  At the end we babbled to each other in our native tongues and she gave me a big hug and kiss on the cheek.  That made me feel really good.  I think of her as my adopted abuela (grandma).

While on our trip, we saw this ship which is part of the Captain Hook Dinner and Show.

While on our trip, we saw this ship which is part of the Captain Hook Dinner and Show.

I was so taken by the idea that we had to try it a couple of days later.

I was so taken by the idea that we had to try it a couple of days later.

It is a ton of fun and I highly recommend it!

It is a ton of fun and I highly recommend it!

Those are the highlights of my trip.  Cheers!

Those are the highlights of my trip. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

