Finished top to bottom

I have finished 1872 Lilac Dream’s hat and that completes the whole project.  Sometimes, after wearing a dress for a few hours, I realize that there are things that need to change and that may happen with this dress.  There are no events planned until spring, so this will have to wait.  For now it is done.

Trial run on my head.  I'll have to fiddle with my hair styles to make sure there is something to shove that hat pin through.

Trial run on my head. I’ll have to fiddle with my hair style to make sure there is something to shove that hat pin through (other than my scalp).

My husband said he thought there was too much on that hat.  I always worry I don’t put enough on because I can’t seem to find that line between embellished and crazy.

Another difficulty I have is with being too matchy-matchy.  I tried to live on the edge and add a detail to the hat that didn’t match.

Big ol' pink rose.

Big ol’ pink rose.

I hate it because it doesn’t match!  It might come off yet.  It is in the back so if I don’t have to see it I might be able to let it go.  I may trim back that netting too.  For now it is best to just walk away and let it be for now.  I’ll look at it with fresh eyes in a week or two.SAM_2707

And here it is with the dress.  Not to shabby, I think.

And here it is with the dress. Not to shabby, I think.

On to the next project which is stash busting for Sew Historical Monthly.  I’m planning on using up some of the left over fabric to add some more trim to the very plain skirt for this dress.SAM_1371

One thought on “Finished top to bottom

  1. […] be able to remove the pins and plan how it will be laid out on the skirt.  As I mention on March 2nd, I will be adding the trim to a relatively plain […]

Leave a Reply

