My son’s mother is growing up

Yes, I mean myself.  I’m growing up and becoming more independent!

A few posts back, I mentioned that I had spilled coffee on my computer and it was having trouble typing.  Normally, I’d run crying to my older computer savvy boy for help but he is out of the country!  What’s a mother to do?

Well, one option was going to a repair shop and paying through the nose-not this cheap cowgirl!  I went on-line and got advice.  I tried drying it and dabbing it clean, as was advised-that didn’t help.  I also learned how to test if I had fried the computer  itself and not just the keyboard (plug a desk top key board into the USB port-if that works it is just the keyboard).  That is in fact what happened and is how I functioned while the original keyboard was broken.

Then I did some calling around to repair shops to see if I could buy the part and fix it myself.  “I’m sorry ma’am, we have to see the computer and all its parts and that will cost you $___ before we actually get the part and install it.”  Not this cheap cowgirl.

I could also torment my husband’s computer savvy friends.  But since I was sure I knew what the problem was, I didn’t want to wait until they were free.

More time on-line.  How to find the part number?  Where to order the part?… Part number found and Amazon to the rescue and guess what!  I’ve typed this whole post on my laptop keyboard that I bought and installed myself for half the cost of what the repair shops would have charged me JUST TO LOOK AT IT!  Yeah me!  I may survive the technological era!

The broken keyboard awaiting its fate in the dumpster!

The broken keyboard awaiting its fate in the dumpster!

One thought on “My son’s mother is growing up

  1. severn14 says:

    Yay! Go you!

Leave a Reply

