I’d like to introduce you to Britta

SAM_2754 aIn this photo, I would place Britta at mid to late teens-early 20’s at the oldest.

Britta Abramson (Shoberd) Born 1855-died 1893

Britta Abramson (Shoberd) Born 1855-died 1893

I love it when there are names and dates on the cards.  If it is correct, you can make assumptions.  One assumption was she was married.  If the dates supplied on the back of the card are correct, we can glean two things…1) she did not live long. She would have been 37-38 when she died.  Did she fall to the dangers that many married woman fell to-child birth?  The second thing we can glean is the date of the card.  If she was mid teens to early 20’s then this card was made around 1870-79.

The dress is in good condition but fairly plain and there is very little jewelry (just a small pin at the throat) so we can guess she was not dirt poor but neither was she rolling in the cash!

The maiden name is not British.  In Canada (and I assume it was the same for the States) the ruling class tended to be from Protestant Britain.  Her name is possibly German.  She and her family would have been considered immigrants and worker class…possibly farmers.  The married name is possibly English.

 

10 thoughts on “I’d like to introduce you to Britta

  1. I’m the same way! To have a full name is great. I love being able to ID the sitters, and you have her maiden name with a birth and death year! There’s much that could be found out about her. If she had kids (of course!) etc…I don’t have full access to ancestry.com unfortunately.

    • I don’t have full access to ancestry.com either but I have managed to get a detail or two out of it. Through my blog and ancestry, I have found some families that my sitters belong to and have returned them. The best story was a mom who got a card from me to give to her daughter who had been given the name of the sitter…a family name. They were both pleased. It made me happy.

  2. That’s really awesome. I love to add a photo of the person to their memorial at findagrave.com when I’m 100% sure of the identity.

  3. pinkpuss1234 says:

    Brittany sounds very German. Is the last name Abramson or Shoberd? Neither sound particularly English- I would know, being from England….

    • I think Abramson is her married name and Shoberd is her maiden name. Maiden names often appear in brackets. I did a Google search on the origins of the last name. Abramson was listed as English origin http://www.surnamedb.com/Surname/Abramson
      Shoberd was not found but it could have been Shobert which is German. And now that I look at it again, it could be Shoberg which is listed as Swedish. AbraHAmson is found in Sweden. Sometimes when people immigrated, the spelling of the name depended on the person doing the paperwork at the “reception desk”. The “ha” could have been dropped then or some other point. So she could have been Swedish and married another Swedish person.

      Also, I made the assumption that she has immigrated and that the photograph was taken in the States because that is where I bought it and the notes on the back are written in English.

      But assumptions are really defined as huge imaginings based on small clues. The card could very well have been mailed to relatives in the States from anywhere on the planet. Also, the odds that this notation was made in the 1870’s and survived is slim at best so the fact that they are in English really means little!

      Interesting discussion! Thanks!

  4. […] To complicate matters I think I found a third family connection but I don’t remember where or when I got this photograph! […]

Leave a Reply

