HSF: Challenge 8 heirloom entry #2

SAM_3166

What the item is: small beaded bag

The Challenge: 8 Heirloom.  I’d call this an heirloom, not because any of it is old but because I imagine such a bag would have been cherished as long as it held together.

Fabric: cotton for lining.

Pattern: The Lady’s Assistant for Executing Useful and Fancy Designs in Knitting, Netting, and Crochet Work (1847) by Jane Gaugain as adapted by this blogger.

Year: 1847

Notions: silk thread (size F) seed beads set of five 2 mm double pointed knitting needles. NOTE: use silk.  It gets heavy with the beads and I think the silk will hold up better in the long run than other fibers.

How historically accurate is it? 80%?  I think they would have lined it in silk not cotton but I had the cotton in my stash.  The beads are glass and I’m not sure they would have had glass SILVER beads.  I think their silver beads would have been metal.

Hours to complete: Counting the 3000 times I dropped stitches and had to struggle to save them….about 50.

First worn: Not yet

Total cost: $4 for the beads and $10 for the thread.  I had to buy the needles but I don’t count that as they will be used for many more projects.

One thought on “HSF: Challenge 8 heirloom entry #2

  1. […] in Knitting, Netting, and Crochet Work (1847) by Jane Gaugain I made up the same pattern in a silk thread in a previous challenge. The bag was lovely but it doesn’t hold very much of my modern parafanalia. I thought the […]

Leave a Reply

