Tragic Stereoscope story:revised

On impulse I stopped at my new favorite antique store (favorite because they will barter down to prices that are more in my range and many times have prices that are so reasonable I don’t feel the need to barter.) I found that my store had a new supply of stereoscope cards.  The last time I was there, I got a stereoscope and a small pile of cards to go with it.  Those cards, I arranged into a story seen here.

Most of my new cards can be added to the existing cards and they create my new revised story…not so tragic.

There once was a young girl who hated practicing her piano.

There once was a young girl who hated practicing her piano.

She grew up and had many friends.

She grew up and had many friends.

Many of her friends were boys.

Many of her friends were boys.

She like some of the boys very much.

She like some of the boys very much.

And Mom and Dad are not thrilled.

And Mom and Dad are not thrilled.

Meanwhile, this poor fellow needs a wife.

Meanwhile, this poor fellow needs a wife.

He manages to convince our heroine to marry him.

He manages to convince our heroine to marry him.

They Honeymoon in Niagora Falls.

They Honeymoon in Niagara Falls.

She struggles at home with inferior help.

She struggles at home with inferior help.

And he comes home tired after a hard day at the office.

And he comes home tired after a hard day at the office.

Eventually twins are born. (I hope you folks are noticing that the setting in some of these photos is the same!)

Eventually twins are born. (I hope you folks are noticing that the setting in some of these photos is the same!)

And the girls are their mother's pride and joy.

And the girls are their mother’s pride and joy.

The son was a bit harder to raise as he wouldn't sleep!

The son was a bit harder to raise as he wouldn’t sleep!

And with two toddlers and a baby, the house became quite disorganized.

And with two toddlers and a baby, the house became quite disorganized.

But the girls grew up.

But the children grew up.

They get married.

They get married.

And our couple spend their golden years travelling.

And our couple spends their golden years travelling.

As does happen in life, the husband dies after a long life.

As does happen in life, the husband dies after a long life.

And the wife finds consolation in her grandchildren.

And the wife finds consolation in her grandchildren.

The end.

One thought on “Tragic Stereoscope story:revised

  1. […] to our anniversary and I made an impulse stop at my favorite antique shop (which I blogged about here.)  While there, I saw something that I REALLY WANTED but didn’t have cash on hand to buy […]

Leave a Reply

