Labor Day lovelys

Happy Labor Day Folks.

Just a brief post for today. I wanted to show the stereoscope cards I bought that did not fit into my little story from my last post.

I never would have bought this card...not my cup of tea.  But, it stuck to another one and once I had it at the till I didn't have the heart or energy to say "never mind...no thanks."  It is a bit boring.

I never would have bought this card…not my cup of tea. But, it stuck to another one and once I had it at the till I didn’t have the heart or energy to say “never mind…no thanks.” It is a bit boring.

The is the card the previous one stuck too.  I liked it because I wanted one colored card and well...it is a peacock!

This is the card the previous one stuck too. I liked it because I wanted one colored card and well…it is a peacock!

It does show up much better in the stereoscope…the fading is not so obvious.  The World’s Columbian Exposition was in 1893.

The other two cards I picked up as this theme tends to be hard to find at reasonable prices…blatant racial stereotyping in a most offensive level.SAM_3188SAM_3186 I cringe at how ignorant these depictions are.  I am relieved that there has been some progress in this regard and this gives me hope that one day all signs of such ignorance will be wiped out.  One day people will look back to our time and say “look how they used to treat each other.  Thankfully, we no longer think or act this way!”

Leave a Reply

