My blogging cup runneth over

For those of you who blog, you will know about those times when you can’t come up with anything related to your blog topic to blog about.  Writers block.  Blog fog.  Dead air.  And then there are times where you have so much to write about and you struggle to pick just one to post  next.  Drought or flood.  Luckily for me, I am in a flood state!

But, I have had no trouble picking my topic for this post, because not only does my blogging cup runneth over but my Victorian one does too.  The lovely lady who cared for my father in his declining years, the one who was his partner and companion, just gave me a wonderful series of gifts!  She has passed on to me some heirlooms from her family.  I don’t know why I should be so blessed but I am grateful!

lorgnette

lorgnette

The lorgnette was usually used as a piece of jewelry, rather than to enhance vision. Fashionable ladies usually preferred them to spectacles…. They were worn popularly in the 19th century.

She also included a brief write about the original owners which I will be sure to keep.

SAM_3300

My benefactor says these are all from Europe.  Most likely from Germany but France is possible as well.

SAM_3309

I tried to use the lorgnette to photograph the engraving inside this plain band.  It didn't work.  The engraving says "John".

I tried to use the lorgnette to photograph the engraving inside this plain band. It didn’t work. The engraving says “John”.

 The stone is more red than brown and more clear than solid.


The stone is more red than brown and more clear than solid. This ring refuses to photograph in its real color.

I will have to loose a bit of weight before I will be able to wear that ring on the correct finger! The last item was possibly from England.

SAM_3317

SAM_3318

 

Outer edge

Outer edge

The inside is still  in good shape.

The inside is still in good shape.

This is the mystery part.  There is no traditional handle or strap.  But, there is this….SAM_3320

I have never seen this before.  The black strip is attached at either end.  It seems to be made from the same material as the rest of the bag.  I think the strap was slipped over a belt and that was how it was worn.  Judging from the petite point purses I’ve seen on line, they were a 1920’s-30’s trend.  But I couldn’t find any examples of ones worn over a belt.

One thought on “My blogging cup runneth over

  1. […] next one is similar to one I own and is dated […]

Leave a Reply

