Dickens’ day 1

We had a good start to our road trip!

We stopped in a small town for lunch and they had these two little buildings made from glass bottles.

We stopped in a small town for lunch and they had these two little buildings made from glass bottles.

The little church was very pretty.

The little church was very pretty.

I am really pleased with how well my phone takes pictures!

Nice little windows in the church.

Nice little windows in the church.

I guess the people who made this we Bob and Dora.

I guess the people who made this we Bob and Dora.

I don't know if this is a world wide thing but lots of small towns have these random "attractions".

I don’t know if this is a world-wide thing but lots of small towns have these random “attractions”.

We're here!

We’re here!

Now to find places for all our crap so we can walk!

Now to find places for all our crap so we can walk!

Shirley even thought of a Christmas tree!

Shirley even thought of a Christmas tree!

Shirley found the very evil Mr. Scrooge!

Shirley found the very evil Mr. Scrooge!

There was a very cute little parade.  It was so small, they went around the block twice.  I loved it!

There was a very cute little parade. It was so small, they went around the block twice. I loved it!

This is what Shirley and I wore the first night.

This is what Shirley and I wore the first night. Shirley was in an early 1860’s style and mine was early 50’s.

Father Christmas!  We've been good ladies....

Father Christmas! We’ve been good ladies….

Or have we.  Our flasks didn't contain just water!

Or have we. Our flasks didn’t contain just water!

I joke about our booze in our flasks but we really were good girls. Neither of us consumed more than an ounce of Bailey’s or Brandy and we were in our jammies by 9:00.

Me in my Ugly Bag of Tea Gown reading how to be a Victorian.

Me in my Ugly Bag of Tea Gown reading how to be a Victorian.  I highly recommend this book by the way.  It doesn’t seem to have the usual misinformation (aka. crap) that other sources have.

More tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

