It is hard work to be a lady!

Shirley and I decided to be like a real Victorian lady who wore several outfits throughout the day.  But before that, we had our little Christmas morning.

I gave her the gloves I made for her.

I gave her the gloves I made for her.

Mine was a birthday/Christmas combo with a little tiara, a cabinet card, a vintage wallet with some funny coins for "ladies of the evening."

Mine was a birthday/Christmas combo with a little tiara, a cabinet card, a vintage wallet with some funny coins for “ladies of the evening.”

Then we dressed for a morning of shopping.

Then we dressed for a morning of shopping.

We found an excellent deal at a fabric store. Shirley is getting hers measured out and mine is in the bag.

We found an excellent deal at a fabric store. Shirley is getting hers measured out and mine is in the bag.

This is my fabric. I think it will be a day dress for a more common woman in the 1840's.

This is my fabric. I think it will be a day dress for a more common woman in the 1840’s.

There were some lovely photo ops all over the place.

There were some lovely photo ops all over the place.

While walking around, I found this quote and I think it suits me just fine!

While walking around, I found this quote and I think it suits me just fine!

We went back to our hotel at lunch time and the sun in the window made a lovely photo!

We went back to our hotel at lunch time and the sun in the window made a lovely photo!

One for Shirley and one for me.

One for Shirley and one for me.

After a quick meal and a very Victorian rest we got ready for the afternoon.

After a quick meal and a very Victorian rest we got ready for the afternoon.

As you can see by my taped shoulder, I am the walking wounded.

As you can see by my taped shoulder, I am the walking wounded.

We went to the local church for a high tea.

We went to the local church for a high tea.

And then enjoyed a carriage ride.

And then enjoyed a carriage ride.

I love carriage rides.

I love carriage rides.

Then it was back to the hotel to don our evening wear. Isn't this the prettiest outer wear!

Then it was back to the hotel to don our evening wear. Isn’t this the prettiest outer wear!

I wore my Green Queen dress.

I wore my Green Queen dress.

The Queen and her Lady in Waiting.

The Queen and her Lady in Waiting.

All in all, an excellent time!

One thought on “It is hard work to be a lady!

  1. It was! I think we will do it again!

Leave a Reply

