Historical Monthly 2016

Historical Monthly 2016 is up now and I have my plans worked out now.  Some I’m more excited about than others but all will be useful at some point so here goes nothing!

January –  Procrastination – finish a garment you have been putting off. The mantle I started but got stalled on because it is ugly and I didn’t need it is the project for this. Perhaps some short fingerless gloves, using the left over wool from the long ones I made this year. 

February – Tucks & Pleating – make a garment that features tucks and pleating.  I need more than one chemise so that is the plan.

March – Protection – make something to protect yourself from weather.  One of my pals has found reference and patterns to winter head gear called a Canadian cloud.  I may make arm warmers as well.

April – Gender-Bender make an item for the opposite gender.  I’ve been wanting to make a gambeson for my son.

May – Holes –  Make a garment that is about holes.  Crotchless bloomers definitely have holes and I can use one more pair.

June – Travel – make a garment for travelling, or inspired by travel.  I will be traveling to the Dickens’ Festival again and a knitted Tulma would not be amiss.

July – Monochrome – make a garment in black, white, or any shade of grey in between. I’ve been a very unfinished woman walking around with no cap upon my head, begging dirt and lice and cold to take me an my hair to task!

August – Pattern – make something in pattern, the bolder and wilder the better. The paisley I bought at the Dickens’ Festival fits this description for sure!

September – Historicism – Make a historical garment that was itself inspired by the fashions of another historical period. Want to make Victorian leather gloves that hint back to the 1700’s.  I haven’t worked with leather in ages so this will be a challenge for me!

October – Heroes – Make a garment inspired by your historical costuming hero.  Most of my costuming heroes have made corsets that are functional.  My one attempt wasn’t very functional or authentic.

November – Red – Make something in any shade of red. I think a red knitted petticoat would be fun.

December – Special Occasion: make something for a special occasion historically.  Long silk gloves were in order for balls and formal dinners.  If I am really ambitious, they will be embroidered.

2 thoughts on “Historical Monthly 2016

  1. severn14 says:

    If you ever need corset-making help, I’m here for you!

Leave a Reply

