Harder than it looks!

In my last post I wrote about tuning up my spinning wheel.  Since then, I have attempted to make it do its thing!  I used the wool I was given for Christmas.IMG_20151227_112724874

At first it didn’t go to well.  It kept breaking.  After an hour and a half-this is all I accomplished.IMG_20151228_132925846

This pile of broken tangled bits on the floor was greater than the finished bit on the wheel.IMG_20151228_140818292

But, then suddenly it started to click and in 20 minutes, I doubled my production.IMG_20151228_140447946

It is much thicker (and lumpier) than I hoped-especially if I ply it together to a 2 or three ply skein.  It would be stronger if I do but it will lose its distinct color changes so I might not do that.  There is a style of plying called Navajo (several videos on YouTube explaining how) that might not mess up the variegation as much.

The tricky part that I have to figure out….now I’m getting ahead of myself.  I need to concentrate on getting the one ply done before I figure out what I’m going to do next with it!  I do need more bobbins though…off to eBay….

2 thoughts on “Harder than it looks!

  1. graceathome says:

    It gets easier with practice!! I love reading your blog and look forward to seeing what your making or doing next. I hope you have a wonderful new year and I hope I am half as productive as you are next year!!

    • I am sure I will get the hang of this and I am not too worried about the inconsistent textures. You can buy wool with bumps and different thickness…I am trendy!! I was watching a video of a spinner who said she can’t make trendy wool-the mistakes I am making now-so I will enjoy it while I can!

Leave a Reply

