So, like, I’m a fiber artist. I, like, spin wool…

I’m ridiculously pleased with myself as my wool spinning made leaps and bounds in progress.  When I first started, the wool was lumpy, uneven in diameter and it broke every two inches.IMG_20151228_132925846

There was a ton of waste.IMG_20151228_140818292

And suddenly it clicked.  It was only breaking every foot and a half!IMG_20151228_140447946

And now I’m a pro!  Okay, okay….it is still lumpy and uneven but I could go an hour or two without it breaking!  I have one braid all spun onto my one and only bobbin!IMG_20160103_152225675

Until I can score some more bobbins, I will have to wind this on paper towel tubing.  Then I have to decide if I will leave it as is and knit it as one ply (there are too many thin spots that will likely break during knitting so I don’t think I will do that), or spin the other braid and put them together and use it as two ply (the colors will get mixed up that way so I am fairly sure I wont do that) or try to Navajo ply that will make a strong 3 ply wool that I can control some of the color mixing.  As you can see, I am leaning towards that. Just a bit scared I will ruin my work doing that….  What to do…what to do!

Leave a Reply

