Project idea: labor intensive and totally impractical!

I have seen a couple of beetle wing dresses and I’ve always wanted to make one.  The dresses themselves are simple in silhouette but the embroidery and attaching of the wings themselves would be insane!   That would be a year-long project all on its own!

After all that work, a dress like that would be more or less useless for me though.  I have no opportunity to wear a high-end evening dress or ball gown.  My costuming group is too small and our venues are too limited to do much more than a dinner out.  And historically speaking, I doubt there were many beetle wing dresses in the wilds of Canada in the mid-Victorian era.

But when I look at a dress like this one, I covet it in the worst way…

It comes from Kent University.

It comes from Kent University.

1863 to 1867

1863 to 1867

I wonder if the beetle wings break if you sit on them.

I wonder if the beetle wings break if you sit on them.

I also wonder how many thousands of wings were used in this.

I also wonder how many thousands of wings were used in this.

4 thoughts on “Project idea: labor intensive and totally impractical!

  1. Do it anyway! 😀 You can always just do it to do it. I’m planning a beetle wing dress for an event next January, but I may only get one use out of it. It’s still something to take pride in and love, even if it only lives on a display mannequin. ^^

  2. Shirley A Victorian says:

    enjoy it’s beauty, but your right where could you wear it. if you really what to work with beetle, make one of those doll dresses. Then you can work with beetle and enjoy the beautiful dress you made every day in you sewing room. Or somewhere else in your home!

Leave a Reply

