Bite me

On my last volunteer session at the Canadian Costume Museum of Canada I saw this Edwardian hat that caught my eye.

I don't recall the exact date on this but I think it is early 1900's.

I don’t recall the exact date on this but I think it is early 1900’s.

It is a mixture of velvet lace and fur.  Obviously, a winter hat.  

It is a mixture of velvet lace and fur.  Obviously, a winter hat.

The lace is quite lovely don't you think.

The lace is quite lovely don’t you think.

They have done this odd thing with the fur-wired it so that clumps of it stand up (left side of the photo).

They have done this odd thing with the fur-wired it so that clumps of it stand up (left side of the photo).

But that isn’t the oddest thing.IMG_20160119_190752264

I’m not 100% sure what the front of the hat is.  I think it is the first photograph in this post.  That would put the above vicious face right near the wearers left eye.  Imagine having that in you peripheral vision!

Leave a Reply

