Authentic vs politically correct

This is a light and fluffy debate on a heavy topic: costuming in an authentically Victorian way without being politically incorrect.

Costume College has a circus theme for one of their events and I have been mulling over my options.  To achieve my goals of not laying out a ton of cash for new gowns for Costume College and not needing to hire a military transport plane to get all of my luggage to California, I selected my Half Grand Surprise Dress for the circus event.  (Small bustle to wear with several dresses vs gargantuan hoops and skirts.) t

The red military style works for a circus.  But how to up my game?  I considered being a bearded lady.  It would be inexpensive to get a fake beard.  It would take almost no space in my suit case.  There were bearded ladies in Victorian circuses.  But to my modern sensibilities, it wasn’t sitting right.  It felt like mocking people who have that genetic or medical trait.  And it felt like I was “flipping the bird to transgender folks”.  So wrong on so many levels.  So I coughed up a bit more cash and a bit more space in my suit case and went for the snake charmer option.  img_20160514_160340302.jpg

Only a costumer would understand this: standing in the rubber snake section of the toy store trying to decide which snake would compliment my Victorian dress best.  I was considering the black cobra but the red in this snake spoke to me!  Or would the green snake show up better in photographs?  Gah!  I may have to go back and buy a second snake.  Then I would have to research whether or not a snake charmer could hold these two species at the same time without “Snakeageddon” breaking out.  Over thinking again….

I also picked up a couple of items to tweak my efforts for the Steampunk tea and the Midsummer Night Galaimg_20160514_160344583.jpg

Speaking of the Steampunk thing… I was looking at some Steampunk guns but decided against them because I just can’t imagine how that would go over in airport security.  Let’s not put another brick in Trump’s wall between Canada and the USA, eh?  My Steampunk persona will have to be more bookish and less militant.

2 thoughts on “Authentic vs politically correct

  1. Leiflynn Jeffery, Melfort, Saskatchewan says:

    Sorry I have nothing to offer in way of suggestions for your costume. Your military dress really looks good, great color. I am jealous that you are going to Costume College as I have read other blogs talking about it and am eager to learn more about the event from a Canadian perspective, so take lots of pictures and be sure to post them!! When is it anyway? What inspired you to actually go?

    • CoCo is the end of July and winning a scholarship is what inspired me to go. If you want to go, I recommend going to their web site and watching out for the call or for scholarship applications. It covers the tuition and one night at the hotel. I used air miles to cover the flight. I’m hoping to get a roommate or two to help cover the hotel. I’m saving up every pay day to cover thec rest of the hotel, any class fees I may have and meals.

Leave a Reply

