Tuesday’s Treasures: memorial jewelry

During a fairly recent volunteer session at the Costume Museum of Canada, I came across what I believe is memorial jewelry. The first is a rather large locket dated 1860’s.11

It was not metal. May be it was wood?  I don’t know.  Instead of photographs inside, there is hair.  I hope you can make it out in the photograph.  The glass is quite scratched.  12

I hope you also noticed that in the inner edges, around the glass, have a pattern worked into it.

The next piece is a double portrait pendant.9

The photograph seems to be of an Victorian or Edwardian woman but that is all I have for dates.  The other photograph is on the other side of the lady’s photo.10

It was a man and that is all I can make out.  It obviously did not endure time as well!

The third piece is my favorite because of the red stones (ruby? garnet?).6

The photograph is of 2 women.7

It is pretty primitive looking and yet I love it!  The piece is held to the wearer with a bar pin and a chain.8

I wish I caught the end of the chain in the photograph because I don’t recall what it is.  Was it a bar that was slid into a button hole?  I can’t remember.  But it is a good idea.  I’ve had the clasp on my pins come undone and then they are gone….

One thought on “Tuesday’s Treasures: memorial jewelry

  1. Leiflynn Jeffery, Melfort, Saskatchewan says:

    You are a good volunteer. What finds totally amazing they survived what looks like some had a rough life. Thanks for sharing. Good tip with the chain attached to a pin for safety, will have to incorporate this into my pins. Thanks and keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

